MORE THAN CHUMP CHANGE

ornamentc

..

Flickr gave me a Christmas gift! Three months of free service! First I waS elated. I had just saved over six bucks and I wouldn’t have to deal with the stress of renewing my pro account until October 5 of next year! Then it all came crashing down on me. Thoughtlessly I hadn’t gotten anything for Flickr – or Yahoo – for Christmas. Geesh. I felt like an absolute grinch. Maybe I could re-gift them with one of my less appealing gifts. Would they like a three layer, gluten free fruitcake!?

According to the bit of desultory research I just did, Flickr claims to have fifty million plus members. I was actually going to count them for myself till I realized I’d probably lose track at some point and have to start all over again. That happens all the time when I’m trying to figure how much money my pocket totals (in my defense, I usually have a ton of pennies and sometimes confuse nickels and quarters).

There’s a lot of crap on Flickr – photos not even the photographer’s mother cares to see. We live in a world where pets have their own twitter and Facebook accounts. I’d guess the average Flickrite has posted at least two or three dozen photos of her dog, cat, gerbil, python or ant colony. After even more exhaustive research I can safely report there are over 3.35 million photographs tagged “pet” on Flickr. Don’t believe me? Count them for yourself.

Don’t get me started on the crooked, often blurry photos of “my kid(s)”, “my husband (wife)”, “my shoes”, and “my bowling ball”.  It’s a mystery to me why people take and post snapshot of ordinary things, and people, they see every day. I don’t have a photo of my cat on my desk; I see him every morning and I’m not likely to forget what he looks like (at least I won’t for another five or six years). It’s mostly the same with my wife. I know what she looks like, too. If I had a photo of her taken ten years ago in a little silver frame beside my desk phone it would probably depress me to  think about how many more wrinkles she has now. It’s moot, however, since she refuses to let me photograph her.

But I digress…

There are of course good photographers among the fifty mil. After personally reviewing all fifty million Flickr photostreams, here are a few of my favorites:

Floralgal – Sergio MandalaybusPublik Oberberg Kevin MacnealBenjamin BjornBernie KasperHawkgenes Peter Bowers Arnold Pouteau – Ali ShokriLaura Travels Imapix

..

treegirlclick for photo credit & license

Read all of VISIONS

Leave a Reply

