Behind the Times

My first serious digital camera was a Panasonic DMC  FZ5. I picked up mine from Circuit City sometime around the beginning of October 2005 for about $350 or so (memory fades) and retired it in mid June of the next year, replacing it with my beloved Nikon D50.

The standout feature of the five megapixel FZ5 was its reasonable fast 12x telephoto lens. For me it was a huge step up the photography ladder from my itty bitty, fixed lens, three megapixel Canon Power Shot A300 ($200 at Walmart in late 2003).

A discussion this past week with a friend about cameras reminded me of my FZ5 period. She had one of my camera’s recent successors (maybe the 8 megapixel FZ18) and was thinking of upgrading to a dSLR.  As a Nikon fanboy I did my best to steer her toward a D3100 or D5100.

That night I found myself wondering whether photos from the FZ5 were still being posted to Flickr in any significant numbers. A few clicks told the story. While I can’t recapture those stats, in the last day 95 people posted 678 FZ5 photos on Flickr. Altogether there are more than four million FZ5 photos on Flickr. On the other hand, the much newer FZ35 was used by 350 Flickr photographers in the past day who posted over thirty-eight hundred shots. My new Nikon D5000 really racks up: 2100 hundred users and 33,700 photos in the past day!

But here’s the fun part… Each Flickr camera page provides a few dozen interesting photos taken with that camera.  Amazingly, several of the shots displayed on the FZ5 page are mine!!  Checking today, I have four shots out of about seven dozen. Here’s my favorite:

Here’s a 2005 review of the FZ5 from dpreview.com

Read all of VISIONS

Leave a Reply

