Bob Guccione

Bob Guccione, the publisher of Penthouse and a handful of other erotic magazines, is dead at the age of 79. I remember the magazine best for its letters section. Virtually every sexual oddity or fetish was covered. Amazing how all those letters from readers seemed written by the same hand… Still some of those letters opened my eyes to some pretty erotic stuff.

Oddly, I wasn’t that attracted to the photos. The Penthouse Pets were photographed in a more realistic style than Hefner’s Playmates. My god, those Penthouse hussies had pubic hair!! But by the time Penthouse appeared I’d already become strongly addicted to the gauzy, hair free images of wholesome pulchritude Playboy had been providing me for years…

Leave a Reply

