1920 – 2010

And you, my father, there on the sad height,
Curse, bless me now with your fierce tears, I pray.
Do not go gentle into that good night.
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Death came quietly to my Father last night just past eleven. His wife was by his side. I was not there, as I had wanted; I had planned to be there this morning and sit in vigil. Today, she and I  will write his obituary and meet with someone at the mortuary to plan his cremation. My father was not religious at all (nor am I).  He wanted no funeral. We will hold a memorial for him sometime this weekend.

Originally from Oklahoma City, my father worked during the war at Oak Ridge, Tennessee, on the Manhattan project. He spent the rest of his working life in the nuclear field as an expert on shielding for reactors and other nuclear radiation sources. His passions in life were sailing, golf and table tennis. He also liked arguing politics with me…

Here are three images of  my father: the first is a photoshopped photo of him at age 18; the second is a photo of a charcoal portrait his sister did when he was about thirty, and the third is a shot I did five years ago with a montage of photos taken earlier in his life.

Leave a Reply

