Another Damn Incredible Photographer From the Netherlands.

Like all people, I like to think well of myself. That is especially true about my skill as a photographer. I’ll look at my better work and say to myself: “Self,  I must say you’re not half bad at this photography thing…” Then I get all puffed up and call myself a “professional photographer.”

Then I stumble across the work of someone like Hans Van de Vorst and I immediately deflate like a ten cent balloon jabbed with a a very rusty nail. I want to sell my camera and take up raising nasty miniature rabbits.

Here is what Hans says about photography on his Flickr profile page:

Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving. What you have caught on film is captured forever… it remembers little things, long after you have forgotten everything.” Aaron Siskind. “A portrait is not a likeness. The moment an emotion or fact is transformed into a photograph it is no longer a fact but an opinion. There is no such thing as inaccuracy in a photograph. All photographs are accurate. None of them is the truth.” Richard Avedon.

To see how de Vorst has put the above maxims into practice,  visit his set Women, Each portrait is a near magical capture of  single instant. He’s had the audacity to visit our American west and stolen from it some stunning photos.

His website is well done with a marvelous soft jazz accompaniment.

Read All of VISIONS

One Response to “Another Damn Incredible Photographer From the Netherlands.”

  1. I know that feeling of being deflated. But then you just need to look at one of your best photographs and the confidence returns.

Leave a Reply

