Blondes

I pity the man who hasn’t fallen insanely in love with at least one beautiful blonde in his life. It would be like never riding a roller coaster or jumping off the really high diving board, never knowing that electric sense of danger and giddy exhilaration.

It was the Summer of 1968 and her name was Gayle. I was an ardent supporter of Gene McCarthy; she walked alone into our first campus meeting.  She had honey blond hair that fell to her shoulders in soft curls, high cheek bones and large green eyes.  If it wasn’t love at first sight it was at least heart pounding lust. The next week she sat next to me on a bus taking us to Indiana to work the Democratic presidential primary. We had our first real date the day we returned to campus.

She drove me wild. Whenever, wherever, we were together I was constantly, and visibly aroused. A week into our relationship, in a small dark restaurant she leaned over the table toward me, her face lit by a small candle  in the center of the red and white checked tablecloth, and said softly, “I want to go to bed with you tonight.”  I was barely twenty, had only known anxious, fumbling  sex with one girl in high school. Forty plus years later I can still vividly recall every single second of our love making that night.  I could write a book about those twenty magnificent minutes.

We were together for barely two months.  It ended badly, of course. I was insanely,  blindly jealous. She left me for my best friend. I wanted to die.  I didn’t. I went to law school instead.

Here is a gallery of blondes, both sweet and dangerous, hot and demure, all from Flickr of course. Maybe you’ll see one who reminds you of a woman you know, or knew once upon a time…

Note: All the Magic of Women galleries are linked to in this post.

 

One Response to “Blondes”

  1. Hope you’re still not a Democrat. Jimmy Carter cured me of that.

Leave a Reply

