In the Beginning…

     

 

The first photo I posted on Flickr

The first photo I posted on Flickr

I discovered Flickr on or about July 4, 2005. I had purchased my first digital camera, a Canon Power Shot A300, more than a year before. That little three megapixel silver box had a fixed lens and very few controls. I loved it. I paid two hundred dollars for it at the local Walmart. That was a very good price in those days. Similar cameras were selling for as high as three hundred.

I don’t remember how I stumbled onto Flickr, perhaps an online article. I do remember being amazed. How great! A place to post my precious photos and to look at thousands of other people’s photos. And to talk about photography and, well, just hot damn, golly gee! I posted my first photo to Flickr the evening of July 4, 2005.  I’d taken the photo two days before on a day trip to southwest Virginia with my wife to show her where my mother had grown up in the twenties and thirties (Here’s a web site I posted about that trip and about the house my mother lived in during the twenties and thirties.) 

In the Fall of 2005 I moved up to a Panasonic DMC-FZ5, a five megapixel camera with a 12x zoom lens. My Flickr posting greatly increased. I was beginning to think of myself as a “serious photographer”.

I’ve been shooting with my D50 now for just under two and a half years. My bag is heavy; its full of lenses and all that other stuff that seems so necessary if you really want to be a “serious photographer”.

Don’t get me wrong. I still love this insane avocation of mine. But some days I do find myself wishing I could recapture some of that newbie innocence and wonder I felt when I first gazed on Flickr’s wonders.  

UPDATE: The St. Charles site linked to above has several images missing due, I assume, to hosting problems for those images…

Read all of VISIONS

Leave a Reply

